Krummenacher Hits WorldSSP Paydirt; Australian Wild Card Ant West Finishes Third

By February 27, 2016 December 13th, 2019 WorldSBK

Krummenacher Hits WorldSSP Paydirt; Australian Wild Card Ant West Finishes Third

WorldSBK By February 27, 2016 December 13th, 2019

IR Header

Ex-Moto2 rider Randy Krummenacher had made the perfect start to his world supersport career with Kawasaki by taking a sensational victory in today’s dramatic 18-lap season-opener at Phillip Island.

The Swiss rider inherited the lead on lap 16 after teammate and world champion Kenan Sofuoglu unexpectedly crashed at turn six, and he was then unchallenged as he claimed the win from Honda rider Federico Caricasulo and Aussie top gun, Anthony West (Queensland), running a privateer Yamaha.

Queensland’s West was sensational in his wildcard appearance on the locally prepared YZF-R6, and came onto Gardner Straight for the last time in front of Caricasulo but was unable to hold off his rival in the run to the chequered flag.

It was West’s second WorldSSP podium at Phillip Island after finishing third in the 2009 race.

Four other Australians finished with world championship points today: Aiden Wagner (MV Agusta) in 10th, Glenn Scott (Honda) 12th, Alex Phillis (Honda) 14th and Mitch Levy (Yamaha) 15th.

Sixteen-year-old Lachlan Epis (Kawasaki) was 21st, while Kane Burns failed to finish on his Suzuki.

The WorldSSP race featured six different leaders, with American Patrick Jacobsen (Honda) the early leader before Jules Cluzel (MV Agusta), West and Sofuoglu also took their turns.

Things eventually turned sour for Cluzel — who’s won the last two WorldSSP races at Phillip Island — when he ran off at turn two battling with West, with Cluzel’s teammate Lorenzo Zanetti went down four corners later after another competitor touched his front wheel. Zanetti had worked his way through the pack after nearly crashing at turn 11 on lap one.

Meanwhile, Christian Gamarino (Kawasaki) finished fourth from Jacobsen and Alex Baldolini (MV Agusta).

Krummenacher came to WorldSSP after 10 years in grand prix racing — five years apiece in 125 GP and Moto2. His crew chief is none other than Australia’s former two-timer WorldSSP champion Andrew Pitt.


Race Results                               

  1. Randy Krummenacher – Switzerland-  Kawasaki   
  2. Federico Caricasulo – Italian-  Honda 2.747
  3. Anthony West – Australia– Yamaha 2.761
  4. Christian Gamarino – Italian    Kawasaki 2.917
  5. Patrick Jacobsen – USA Honda 3.20

Other Australians

10. Aiden Wagner – Australia  – MV Agusta 18.172

12. Glenn Scott – Australia (Central Coast) 18.334

14.  Alex Phillis – Australia (Melb/Albury) Honda 38.311

15.  Mitch Levy – Australia Yamaha 38.412

21.  Lachlan Epis – Australia (Syd) Kawasaki 1 lap



About PIC

The official account of the world-renowned race track. Tag  @phillipislandcircuit and use #AustralianWorldSBK to share your circuit photos

Stay up to date

with WorldSBK - Phillip Island