Rea Wins World Superbike Thriller

By February 21, 2015 December 13th, 2019 WorldSBK

Rea Wins World Superbike Thriller

WorldSBK By February 21, 2015 December 13th, 2019

WSBK Strip

Northern Ireland’s Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki) has won his first world superbike race at Phillip Island this afternoon after a titanic battle against fellow Brits Leon Haslam and Chaz Davies.

Rea pipped Haslam’s Aprilia to the finish line by just 0.039 seconds after a pulsating 22 laps, not only recording his maiden win at Phillip Island but also winning for the first time out with his new employer, Kawasaki.

Rea’s win came on his second ‘home’ track, as he’s married to a Phillip Island girl, Tatia Weston, and spends the Australian summers at the seaside location.

Rea had his Kawasaki in front for all but one lap of the race, while Haslam had to fight back from an off-track excursion on lap 15 at Stoner Corner (turn three), but he quickly rallied to work his way back into the fight for the lead.

Davies (Ducati) was also in the top three for the entire distance, but just couldn’t mount a challenge on the final lap as he completed the podium in front of impressive newcomers Jordi Torres (Aprilia) and Michael van der Mark (Honda).

Tom Sykes (Kawasaki) was sixth after running off the track at turn one on lap, which dropped him well out of the top 10.

World champion Sylvain Guintoli (Honda) was seventh, while Australia’s veteran Troy Bayliss (Ducati) was as high as seventh in his cameo world superbike appearance before drifting back through the pack to finish 13th, one spot ahead of countryman, Melbourne wild card, Jed Metcher  (Kawasaki).

Race two is at 2:40pm this afternoon.

Race One Results

Superbike World Championship – Rd 1 – Phillip Island

  1. Jonathan Rea (GBR)  – Kawasaki

  2. Leon Haslam (GBR) – Aprilia

  3. Chaz Davies (GBR) – Ducati

  4. Jordi Torres (Spain) – Aprilia

  5. Michael Van der Mark (Netherlands) Honda

  6. Tom Sykes (GBR) – Kawasaki

  7. Sylvain Guintoli (France) – Honda

  8. Nicolo Terol (Spain ) – Ducati

  9. Alex Lowes (GBR) – Suzuki

  10. Leon Camier (GBR)  – MV Agusta


13.       Troy Bayliss (AUS – Taree/Gold Coast ) – Ducati

14.        Jed Metcher (AUS – Melbourne) – Kawasaki



About PIC

The official account of the world-renowned race track. Tag  @phillipislandcircuit and use #AustralianWorldSBK to share your circuit photos

Stay up to date

with WorldSBK - Phillip Island