Skip to main content

World Superbike Entry List Released

By January 12, 2019December 13th, 2019WorldSBK

World Superbike Entry List Released

WorldSBK By January 12, 2019 December 13th, 2019

Entry List PR Strip

International organisers, DORNA, released entry lists for the world superbike and world supersport categories over the weekend, with a stellar line-up for both categories set to debut at Phillip Island’s season kick-off of the 2019 MOTUL FIM Superbike World Championship from February 22-24.   

The WorldSBK grid sees seasoned pros going into battle against world champions from the grand prix ranks, as well as a couple of hotshots returning to the production series for the Yamaha Finance round.

Led by reigning world champion Jonathan Rea, 10 riders on the 2019 WorldSBK grid have won a total of 181 races between them.  Rea has a whopping 71 one of those, followed by Tom Sykes (34), Chaz Davies (29), Marco Melandri (22), Eugene Laverty (13), Leon Haslam (5), Ryuichi Kiyonari (5), Michael van der Mark (2), Alex Lowes (1) and Jordi Torres (1).

Haslam and Kiyonari return to the WorldSBK ranks in 2019 – the latter for the first time since 2009 – while the grand prix stars are Spaniard Alvaro Bautista and German Sandro Cortese. And they bring with them major firepower:  Bautista was the 2006 125cc champion and went on to win 16 races in the lightweight and intermediate classes before moving into MotoGP, where he was a three-time podium finisher; while Cortese was the 2012 Moto3 champion and in 2018 clinched the world supersport title in his first attempt.

With Cortese now on the WorldSBK circuit, the 25 rider WorldSSP grid boasts many of last year’s title contenders determined to gain 2019 class honours.    Lucas Mahias moves to Kawasaki taking the spot of retired five-time world champ Kenan Sofuoglu and pairing with Japanese Hikari Okubo for 2019.  Jules Cluzel will ride alongside Corentin Perolari in the all-French Yamaha team, while Randy Krummenacher, Ayrton Badovini and Raffaele De Rosa all return.    History will be made, when Spain’s Maria Herrera (MS Racing) becomes the first female to take a full-time WorldSSP ride. 

As a bonus for fans, the new three-race WorldSBK format launches, with the 10 lap Sunday midday sprint adding to the 2 x 22 lap traditional WorldSBK 3pm races on Saturday and Sunday. WorldSSP will contest one 18 lap battle on Sunday at 1.15pm.   An advance three-day ticket is just $120* and includes free Paddock Access from or Ticketek. Kids 15 and under are free.

Let’s take a closer look at the proposed 2019 WorldSBK grid:

Four-time world champion Rea will remain at home with his Kawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK and crew chief Pere Riba, both focussed on a record-breaking title number 5.

But there’s been a change on the other side of the garage, as Haslam joins the squad. Signing a one-year deal, the British champion returns to WorldSBK for the first time since 2015 – although we have seen him every year since then during wildcard appearances.

It’s a similar story over in the Racing Ducati garage, with Davies remaining with the team for a sixth season on board the sensational new Panigale V4 R.   He’s finished runner-up on three occasions in WorldSBK, and this year has a new face on the other side of the garage –  MotoGP recruit Alvaro Bautista who’s pace in early testing has been impressive.

There will be no changes at the Pata Yamaha Official WorldSBK Team, as van der Mark and Lowes line up with their YZF-R1s for the third season in a row. Both riders took their first WorldSBK wins in 2018; van der Mark took the double victory around Donington Park, and Lowes followed with the race two win around Brno.

Welcoming the return of BMW as a factory support, the BMW Motarrad WorldSBK Team, run by Shaun Muir Racing, will be lining up on the grid with reigning STK1000 champion Markus Reiterberger and 2013 WorldSBK champion Sykes. Reiterberger, who dominated the STK1000 class on a BMW in 2018, has experience in WorldSBK, while Sykes boasts some of the most experience in the paddock.

Fielding a third Ducati Panigale V4 R in 2019 will be the Barni Racing Team, which has signed Michael Ruben Rinaldi. The Italian already has one year of experience in the WorldSBK class under his belt. Joining the best independent team of 2018, who secured six podiums last season, his experience and relationship with Ducati will no doubt help to continue this into 2019.

Making the step up from the European Superstock 1000 Championship, Alessandro Delbianco will line up on the grid with the new Althea MIE Racing Team as it makes the switch to Honda – aligned with the mighty Honda Racing Corporation (HRC) returning to the championship for the first time since 2002.

British rider Leon Camier will stick with Althea and Honda after a tough season, joined by Japanese legend Kiyonari.   Camier had a strong start to 2018 but ended in 12th overall after being plagued by injury and bike problems. Kiyonari has 53 race starts to his name, with three wins overall and experience in many national superbike championships.

Yamaha will run a second factory supported team in 2019, with Cortese and Melandri lining up for the GRT Yamaha WSBK Team.   Cortese is keen to adapt his riding style for the new season ahead.  Melandri, a WorldSBK race winner in 2018, joins Cortese –  the veteran back with Yamaha for the first time since 2011.

Sticking with the same team for 2019 will be Toprak Razgatlioglu, who heads into his second season with Kawasaki Puccetti Racing. The young Turkish star was able to secure two podiums in 2018, as he continues to get to grips with the ZX-10RR. Securing the STK1000 title in 2017, Razgatlioglu has a natural speed which he is continuing to define with the WorldSBK machine.

Jordi Torres makes his return to the WorldSBK paddock after a brief stint in MotoGP as a replacement rider. The Spanish rider is joining Team Pedercini Racing for 2019, and will make his debut on the Kawasaki machine, debuting on the ZX-10RR.  Independent Kawasaki rider Leandro Mercado (Orelac VerdNatura) sticks with his 2018 team, while Eugene Laverty moves from Aprilia to Team GoEleven’s new Ducati Panigale V4R.

The full WorldSBK grid begins pre-season testing again in late January, with the final shakedown at Phillip Island on February 18-19 ahead of round one and the three-race formula debut.  Also on the agenda is an 18-lap world supersport race and nine national support races, kicking off the 2019 Australian title chase for superbike, supersport and supersport 300.

Download 2019 WorldSBK Entry List Here

See you Trackside at the Island for a Triple-Treat

A three-day General Admission is $120* secured in advance, or $230* when you add camping to your purchase.

If you feel like splashing out, step up to a Bar SBK ticket at $265* (with camping $375*) and enjoy undercover facilities at Doohan Corner, Siberia and Lukey Heights.

World superbikes is FREE** for kids 15 and under, and so is your bike.

As an extra bonus at WorldSBK, all three-day ticket holders are gifted FREE paddock access.

For more information go to or call the toll free WorldSBK Hotline 1300 728 007
*All ticket prices quoted purchased in advance and subject to Ticketek service and handling fees.
**Children 15 and under are free and must be accompanied by a paying adult.



The official account of the world-renowned race track. Tag  @phillipislandcircuit and use #AustralianWorldSBK to share your circuit photos

Stay up to date

with WorldSBK - Phillip Island