Cluzel Goes Back-To-Back

By February 21, 2015 December 13th, 2019 WorldSBK

Cluzel Goes Back-To-Back

WorldSBK By February 21, 2015 December 13th, 2019

WSBK Strip

Jules Cluzel has become the third rider to win back-to-back world supersport races at Phillip Island with an all-the-way triumph in today’s 18-lap race.

The Frenchman was shadowed by his MV Agusta teammate Lorenzo Zanetti for most of the journey before pulling away in the final few laps and recording a 3.494-second victory, with Gino Rea (Honda) claiming the final spot on the podium after a tough battle with fellow Briton Kyle Smith (Honda).

The two other riders to have won consecutive world supersport races at Phillip Island are Cluzel’s countryman Sebastien Charpentier in 2005-2006 and Kenan Sofuoglu in 2012-2013.

Sofuoglu was battling at the front in today’s race before running off the circuit at turn one on lap six. The three-time world champion then fell back to last before carving his way back to sixth position, with Thai rider Ratthapark Wilairot (Honda) in fifth.

Aussie wildcards Aiden Wagner (Yamaha) and Glenn Scott (Honda) scored world championship points in 13th and 14th, with Alex Phillis (Honda) 17th.

The second round of the world supersport title will be held in Thailand on March 22.

World Supersport race results

  1. Jules Cluzel – France – MV Agusta

  2. Lorenzo Zanetti – Italian – MV Agusta

  3. Gino Rea – GBR – Honda

Australians in WSS race

13.       Aiden Wagner – Australia (QLD) – Yamaha

14.        Glenn Scott – Australia (NSW Central Coast ) – Honda

17         Alex Phillis – Australia (Melbourne) – Honda



About PIC

The official account of the world-renowned race track. Tag  @phillipislandcircuit and use #AustralianWorldSBK to share your circuit photos

Stay up to date

with WorldSBK - Phillip Island