Go Kart Challenge Bonanza: Riders Switch from Two Wheels to Four in Ultimate Go Kart Race

By February 22, 2024 WorldSBK

Go Kart Challenge Bonanza: Riders Switch from Two Wheels to Four in Ultimate Go Kart Race

WorldSBK By February 22, 2024

Tension was high as World Superbike riders Remy Gardner [GYTR GRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team], Bradley Ray [Yamaha Motoxracing WorldSBK Team], Philipp Oettl [GMT94 Yamaha], World Supersport riders Oli Bayliss [D34G Racing WorldSSP Team], Thomas Booth-Amos [PTR Triumph], John McPhee [WRP-RT Motorsport by SKM-Triumph], and ASBK – Australian Superbike national support competitors Max Stauffer, Cameron Dunker, Josh Waters, Bryan Starring, Olly Simpson and Jordy Simpson all eyed each other off for ultimate glory of being the Phillip Island Go Kart Champion!

With trophies on offer, the podium set and TV, Radio, Journalists and Photographers cornering them, riders knew they had to put it all on the line for their first big race of the season.

It was Australian Superbike rider Bryan Starring who claimed Pole Position, but a jump-start penalty cancelled out his hopes of a podium in the main race.

The 12-lap feature race was run and won by Australian Superbike rider Max Stauffer, second place went to World Supersport competitor John McPhee, and third went to Australian Supersport racer Olly Simpson.

Better yet… the best crash award went to Philipp Oettl!

Check out the images here!

Written by: Tayla Relph
Images by: Russell Colvin
Don’t miss a second of the action from the 2024 MOTUL FIM Superbike World Championship, Grand Ridge Brewery Australian Round – 23 – 25th February 2024.
Phillip Island Circuit

About Phillip Island Circuit

The official account of the world-renowned race track. Tag  @phillipislandcircuit and use #AustralianWorldSBK to share your circuit photos

Stay up to date

with WorldSBK - Phillip Island