WORLDSSP: Bulega untouchable at The Island while Bayliss remains in top 5

By February 21, 2023 February 24th, 2023 WorldSBK

WORLDSSP: Bulega untouchable at The Island while Bayliss remains in top 5

WorldSBK By February 21, 2023 February 24th, 2023

WORLDSSP: Bulega untouchable at The Island while Bayliss remains in top 5

Nicolo Bulega [Aruba.It Racing WorldSSP Team] has set the benchmark high in WorldSSP on the conclusion of their third Free Practice session for the Official Test, with Stefano Manzi [Ten Kate Racing Yamaha] and Can Oncu [Kawasaki Puccetti Racing] following closely behind.

Bulega, who has remained fastest in all three Free Practice sessions at Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit so far, has set a strong pace with a 1:33.111, clearing 0.166s clear of the ensuing pack of Manzi and Oncu.

Stefano Manzi looks to have formed a positive bond with the Ten Kate Racing Yamaha Team, who have an all new lineup of riders in 2023 with double WorldSSP Champion Dominique Aegerter stepping into WorldSBK. In what seems to be a fitting change for Italian rider Stefano Manzi, he has been sure to not let Bulega entirely out of his sights during the Official Test.

Can Oncu rounded out the top three in this morning’s 1h50m Free Practice session, with a 1:33.406.

Taking his maiden WorldSSP race victory at Phillip Island in November, Yari Montella [Barni Spark Racing Team] is making his way up the timesheets, finding himself in fourth place at the conclusion of FP3.

Seemingly still coming to grips with the Panigale V2, Montella dropped over half a second off his best time set in FP1 yesterday, setting a new best lap of 1:33.802.

Oli Bayliss [D34G Racing] also improved his best time set in FP2 yesterday, with a new best of 1:34.005 to round out the top 5.

The top six following WorldSSP FP1, full results here:

  1. Nicolo Bulega ( Racing WorldSSP Team) 1’33.111
  2. Stefano Manzi (Ten Kate Racing Yamaha) +0.166s
  3. Can Oncu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) +0.295s
  4. Yari Montella (Barni Spark Racing Team) +0.691s
  5. Oli Bayliss (D34G Racing) +0.894s
  6. Federico Caricasulo (Althea Racing Team) +0.962s

Don’t miss a second of the action from the 2023 MOTUL FIM Superbike World Championship, Grand Ridge Brewery Australian Round – 24 – 26th February 2023. Get your tickets HERE
Phillip Island Circuit

About Phillip Island Circuit

The official account of the world-renowned race track. Tag  @phillipislandcircuit and use #AustralianWorldSBK to share your circuit photos

Stay up to date

with WorldSBK - Phillip Island